Department of Hadith

1. Hadith

The science of Hadith studies the sayings ascribed to and reports about the Prophet Muhammad, uniformly called hadith, and the historical development of their transmission chains (sanad) and texts (matn). Its main research areas are the source value and authenticity of hadith and sunnah, their transmission, recording, collection, and classification, and the religious, political, and socio-cultural variables affecting these processes. The Department, at the undergraduate and graduate level, focuses particularly on the nature, efficiency, and problems of the sources of hadith and traditional hadith methodology. M. Tayyib Okiç, the founder of the Department, and M. Fuat Sezgin produced the first examples of modern studies in this field. Talat Koçyiğit and other members of the Department later made significant contributions to the field through their pioneering studies concerning the history and methodology of Hadith. M. Said Hatiboğlu led the formation of a critical approach to hadith sources with his research starting in the 1960s, an approach that has since defined the essential character of hadith studies at the Faculty. Until recently graduate level studies mainly focused on the identification and discussion of classical hadith issues. More recent studies, however, have centered particularly on the problematic issues of the field and on searching for new methodologies in understanding and interpreting the hadith. The main characteristic of these studies is their emphasis on how to evaluate the hadith and their history and literature in a scientific manner and on what kind of conceptual and theoretical system can be employed in this evaluation. In this context, the Department attaches great importance to interdisciplinary approaches and methods.

2. Current Academic Staff

Prof. Dr. İsmail Hakkı Ünal (Head)

Prof. Dr. Mehmet Hayri Kırbaşoğlu

Prof. Dr. Kamil Çakın

Prof. Dr. Mehmet Emin Özafşar

Prof. Dr. Bünyamin Erul

Prof. Dr. Ali Dere

Prof. Dr. Enbiya YILDIRIM

Lect.  Suat Koca

Dr. Muhammet Emin Eren

Assist.  Recep Gürkan Göktaş

Assist.  Bilal Değirmenci